Academic Calendar Year – Printable version

Academic Year Calendar 2017/2018

August

First Yr & Parent’s Reception 8.45-9.15am with Principal, Deputy and Guidance Counsellor

Thursday 23rd August 2018

  • First Yr & Parent’s Reception 8.45-9.15am with Principal, Deputy and Guidance Counsellor.
  • First Yr. formal session with Guidance Counsellor to 12 pm approx.
  • Students to wear full school uniform. Please bring a pen and light snack. No disposable bottles please as per school policy

Friday 24th School Closed – CPD Day for all staff

Friday 24th August 2018

School Closed – CPD Day for all staff

Mon 27th Student Enrichment 3rd Yr Study Skills

Monday 27th August 2018

  • Student Enrichment 3rd Yr Study Skills: 8.45-11.30am (Please bring snack – no disposable bottles please as per school policy)
  • Please bring a history/geog/biology type textbook and pen for Study Skills Programme
  • First Yr Induction 9-11am approx. Please wear track suit and bring snack and reusable water bottle (no disposable bottles please as per school policy)

28th Tue Student Enrichment 6th Yr Study Skills: 8.45am-2.45pm (Lunch 1-1.30pm)

Tuesday 28th August 2018

  • Student Enrichment 6th Yr Study Skills: 8.45am-2.45pm (Lunch 1-1.30pm)
  • Please bring a history/geog/biology type textbook and pen for Study Skills Programme
  • All students 9.30am-1pm (except 6th Yrs) Meet in Concert Hall at 9.30am

Wed 29th All students 8.30am-1pm (class as normal)

Wednesday 29th August 2018

All students 8.30am-1pm (class as normal)

Thurs 30th Full school day

Thursday 30th August 2018

Full school day

Fri 31st Full school day-1st Yrs please note: Fridays finish 2.50pm

Friday 31st August 2018

Full school day – 1st Yrs please note: Fridays finish 2.50pm

September

Weds 12th 8.45-1pm: 5th Yr Retreat – In House (Library). 1.45-3.45pm – classes as normal

Wednesday 12th September 2018

8.45-1pm: 5th Yr Retreat – In House (Library). 1.45-3.45pm – classes as normal

Thurs 13th 4th Yr Departure for Recess – return Sunday

Thursday 13th September 2018

4th Yr Departure for Recess – return Sunday

Weds 19th 8.45-1pm: 2nd Yr Retreat – In House (Library). 1.45-3.45pm – classes as normal

Wednesday 19th September 2018

8.45-1pm: 2nd Yr Retreat – In House (Library). 1.45-3.45pm – classes as normal

Tues 25th 1st Yr Retreat – full day – School Canteen

Tuesday 25th September 2018

1st Yr Retreat – full day – School Canteen

Weds 26th Class of ’18 Debutant Reception Fitzpatrick’s Hotel 5.30-7.30pm

Wednesday 26th September 2018

Class of ’18 Debutant Reception Fitzpatrick’s Hotel 5.30-7.30pm

October

Thurs 4th 6th Yr Retreat – full day: Glendalough: School Tracksuit and School Jacket

Thursday 4th October 2018

6th Yr Retreat – full day: Glendalough: School Tracksuit and School Jacket

Tues 9th 3rd Yr Retreat – full day: Study Hall

Tuesday 9th October 2018

3rd Yr Retreat – full day: Study Hall

Weds 17th Parent Association AGM 7.30pm

Wednesday 17th October 2018

Parent Association AGM 7.30pm

Thurs 18th 2nd Yr PTM 4.15-6.45pm

Thursday 18th October 2018

2nd Yr PTM 4.15-6.45pm

Weds 24th Transition Year Musical

Wednesday 24th October 2018

Transition Year Musical

Thurs 25th Transition Year Musical

Thursday 25th October 2018

Transition Year Musical

Fri 26th Transition Year Musical

Friday 26th October 2018

Transition Year Musical

Fri 26th School closes for Midterm break 2.50pm

Friday 26th October 2018

School closes for Midterm break 2.50pm – Halloween Break until Friday Nov 2nd inclusive

November

Mon 5th School re opens after Midterm break

Monday 5th November 2018

School re opens after Midterm break

Thurs 8th 3rd Yr PTM 4.15-6.45pm

Thursday 8th November 2018

3rd Yr PTM 4.15-6.45pm

Weds 21st CPD Day – School Closed (DES In-Service) 2nd and 5th Yr exams: Start date tbc. 1st Yr exams to be announced.

Wednesday 21st November 2018

  • CPD Day – School Closed (DES In-Service)
  • 2nd and 5th Yr exams: Start date tbc.
  • 1st Yr exams to be announced.

December

Thurs 6th 6th Yr PTM 4.15-6.45pm

Thursday 6th December 2018

6th Yr PTM 4.15-6.45pm

Mon 10th School Closed

Monday 10th December 2018

School Closed

Fri 21st School closes for Christmas Holidays at 1.00pm Christmas Holidays until Fri Jan 4th 2019 inclusive

Friday 21st December 2018

School closes for Christmas Holidays at 1.00pm
Christmas Holidays until Fri Jan 4th 2019 inclusive

January

Mon 7th School re-opens

Monday 7th January 2019

School re-opens

Thurs 24th 1st Yr PTM 4.15-6.45pm

Thursday 24th January 2019

1st Yr PTM 4.15-6.45pm

Mon 28th Catholic Schools Week

Monday 28th January 2019

Catholic Schools Week

February

Mon 4th TY Work Experience begins

Monday 4th February 2019

  • TY Work Experience begins until Fri 15th February inclusive
  • Week beginnning Mon 4th Feb: LC Mocks begin until Fri 15th Feb – exact date tbc
  • Week beginnning Mon 4th Feb: JC Mocks begin until Fri 15th Feb – exact date tbc

Fri 15th School closes for Midterm break 2.50pm

Friday 15th February 2019

School closes for Midterm break 2.50pm

Midterm Break until Fri 22nd Feb 2019 inclusive (Contingency Days: 18th,19th & 20th Feb 2019)

Mon 25th School reopens after Midterm break

Monday 25th February 2019

School reopens after Midterm break

Thurs 28th 5th Yr PTM 4.15-6.45pm

Thursday 28th February 2019

5th Yr PTM 4.15-6.45pm

March

Weds 6th In coming First Yr 2019 Parent Information Evening 7.30pm

Wednesday 6th March 2019

In coming First Yr 2019 Parent Information Evening 7.30pm

Thurs 14th 4th Yr PTM 4.15-6.45pm

Thursday 14th March 2019

4th Yr PTM 4.15-6.45pm

Mon 18th Bank Holiday, St. Patrick’s Day, school closed.

Monday 18th March 2019

Time: 2019-03-18

Bank Holiday, St. Patrick’s Day, school closed.

Tues 19th School closed

Tuesday 19th March 2019

School closed

Tues 26th School closed – CPD Day for all staff (DES In Service)

Tuesday 26th March 2109

School closed – CPD Day for all staff (DES In Service)

April

Fri 12th School closes for Easter Holidays

Friday 12th April 2019

  • School closes for Easter Holidays
  • Easter Holidays until Fri April 26th inclusive. (Contingency Days: 15th,16th,17th April)

Mon 29th School re-opens after Easter Holidays

Monday 29th April 2019

School re-opens after Easter Holidays

May

Mon 6th Bank Holiday, School closed.

Monday 6th May 2019

Bank Holiday, School closed.

Thurs 9th TY Presentation Evening for TY parents. TY Information Evening for 3rd Yrs and their parents

Thursday 9th May 2019

TY Presentation Evening for TY parents. TY Information Evening for 3rd Yrs and their parents

Weds 22nd 6th Yr Graduation Mass & Prize Giving. School finishes 1pm

Wednesday 22nd May 2019

6th Yr Graduation Mass & Prize Giving. School finishes 1pm

Thurs 23rd 1st and 2nd Yr house exams begin

Thursday 23rd May 2019

  • 1st and 2nd Yr house exams begin – exact date tbc. Followed by feedback week for 1st and 2nd Yrs – exact dates tbc.
  • Transition and 5th Yr house exams: start date tbc and continuing until Fri 31st May

Fri 31st House exams am & school closes for summer pm.

Friday 31st May 2019

House exams am & school closes for summer pm.

June

Mon 3rd Bank Holiday – School closed.

Monday 3rd June 2019

Bank Holiday – School closed.

Weds 5th State Exams begin

Wednesday 5th June 2019

State Exams begin

 

Notes